Change is Good

Putting 15 years of stuff into boxes requires a lot of boxes!

I’ve been gradually combing through my office one binder at a time. My purpose has been to eliminate unnecessary stuff. Unfortunately, when everything is important it’s very difficult to throw anything out.

I began early knowing full well that it would take me time to pour over “historical” documents in a futile attempt to determine their validity. I’m very pleased to report that today I was able to rid my office space of 10 binders full of out dated SOPs and pre-millennial memos. However, it wasn’t without a few tears. I get really sentimental when I read memos written by retired colleagues and admirable predecessors.

The alternative would be to pack it all up and move it to my new office until someday my successor would have to throw it out. Network television should film a reality TV show about office hoarders. They could get great ratings filming my office for their pilot episode.

In any case, I felt really proud of myself today as I tossed binders into the shred bin. It felt quite refreshing actually. Unfortunately, I have a long way to go and only two months to get it done.

Although I tell myself daily that change is good and I like the new building we’re moving into, saying goodbye to the old building is going to be very difficult for me. I literally feel like I’ve grown up in this office.

I was 24 years old and newly-wed when I started working at the medical examiner’s office. My wife taught preschool on campus and I was in the process of completing medical school prerequisites at the University of Utah. Previous to that I was living at home with my parents and working as a volunteer EMT/Firefighter and substitute school teacher.

I fell in love with forensics and chose to make it my career. Over the years I’ve been presented with opportunities to choose other paths, but in the end forensics has maintained its appeal.

Looking into my office and seeing stacks of boxes filled with so many memories, I can’t help but feel nostalgic. I found a note tucked away in one of my binders written by a medical examiner who passed away many years ago. The note was almost 15 years old, but her advice was as fresh as the day she wrote it.

It was just instructions on how to be a great transcriptionist, but the feelings and emotions that flooded my office were tangible and unforgettable. God bless you, Dr. Frikke!

Speaking of unforgettable moments, I want to end by sharing an experience from today that I hope will leave a lasting impression.

As you know, we’re packing up the office so we need a lot of boxes. Well, we ran out of boxes today so I went to the store to purchase more. As I was checking out, the cashier said something that caught me off guard but absolutely made my day. Her name was Linda.

As I walked up to the counter, Linda said, “You’re cute!”

With flushed cheeks I thanked her and said, “You just made my day. In fact, when we’re done here I’m going to give you a hug.”

Then, Linda’s cheeks flushed and she said, “You just made my day.”

That brief encounter with Linda solidified a valuable lesson. That lesson was about how the influence of one person can change the world.

It doesn’t take slander and mud slinging to get to the top. You don’t have to be president of the United States to make a change. Showing love and kindness to strangers will make the world a better place to live.

Right now, I commit to be a little more kind tomorrow than I was today. I’m going to do it for Dr. Frikke. Who are you going to do it for?

Linda changed the course of my whole day. I challenge you to change the course of somebody’s day. Make the world a better place.

 

boxes-in-office

 

 

6 responses to “Change is Good

  1. Thank you for the reminder to find opportunities to make someone else’s day. You never know what kind of impact you can make. Just reading about your experience with Linda brightened my day, she sounded genuine.

    • Dear Jewels,

      You’re so cute. Thanks for the comment.

      By the way, would you consider being a guest writer on my blog? I loved your article, “Signs of Life”. It was relevant and thought provoking. I would love to show case your talent on my site.

      Love,
      Brandon

Leave a Reply

