There’s No Good Reason

A friend of mine was visiting the other day and during his visit he said something thought-provoking to my oldest son who was quarreling with his younger brother over a seat. It was simple, but profound. He said, “There’s no good reason why he can’t sit there.” My son was speechless. Apparently, my oldest son felt that he was entitled to that particular spot on the couch because he had been sitting there several minutes earlier. He left the spot in order to sit in another chair which was closer to the television and became incensed when his little brother took his vacant spot on the couch next to my friend. My oldest son really didn’t want to sit on the couch any longer, but he also didn’t want his younger brother to sit there “for no good reason.”

This incident made me think about the shenanigans that occur at the work place and all around us. I’m guilty of acting like my eight-year-old son at times. Why is that? Is it a sense of ownership due to relative social position that motivates us to behave this way. Maybe it’s a sense of entitlement learned from a society that constantly tells us that we can have it our way. I’ve heard it said that we are a choice generation. What does that even mean? I think some people have interpreted it as something other than what it was intended. Whatever the reason, I fear THAT mentality is taking over our country “for no good outcome.”

4 responses to “There’s No Good Reason

  1. I thought he was elequent in everything! Perhaps it was his mid-southern up bringing. The coming generation has gained an awful sense of entitlement though. It is sad to think and consider why? I truly believe that we can’t control what others do, but we can control our attitude. Keeping a positive attitude is so vital! And I also like the quote “why not?”!
    Nicely stated author! Very thought provoking!

  2. i have reread your blog a few times and am a little confused. i don’t know whether you are saying people are using mental issues to their advantage, or if people treat mental issues not seriously enough? just trying to understand.

    • Hello terry1954. Thank you for reading and commenting. Please direct me to my post that talks about using mental issues to one’s advantage so that I may respond appropriately. I look forward to your response.

  3. I remember waiting for a prime parking spot in front of a store only to have another car buzz in and take “MY” spot. Right then and there I realized I was not the owner of that spot and wasn’t the center of the world. I let myself be mildly irritated at the inconsiderate driver but try to open to those disappointments. There are a lot of them, the shortest line in check out, parking spaces, the best deal. Keep trying for those but be gracious when I am disappointed

Leave a Reply

