Day in the Life of a Medical Examiner

I was informed today by one of our pathologists that a media crew will be visiting our office to film an exposé regarding his job as a medical examiner. I’m not very excited about the visit, but it’s not my call to disallow it.

I would prefer that the media didn’t film in the autopsy suite at all, but the doctor who is being filmed is on duty tomorrow, which means he is expected to be in the autopsy suite for most of the day. (We already have four people to examine tomorrow.) I’ll do my best to respect the individuals who will be examined by covering any identifiable marks or tattoos-including the person’s face and genitalia.

I’ll let you all know how it goes, and I’ll fill you in on when to expect the piece to air. By the way, please respond to this post with your thoughts about whether or not the media should be allowed to film an autopsy. Is this something people actually want to witness? What kinds of things would you like to know regarding a day in the life of a medical examiner? Do you think the media will spin a good light on the duties of a medical examiner’s office or will it just gross-out a lot of people? I would like to hear from you.

As always, thanks for reading. I look forward to your comments.

3 responses to “Day in the Life of a Medical Examiner

  1. No way! That is complete craziness! I don’t know that I want to “see” all of what you do. Just the few scenes that I have seen have left impressions. On the flip side the science and anatomy of it can be intriguing. I guess it depends on how they present the procedure. What a technical undertaking for you though! Good luck! I’ll be thinking about you all day!

  2. I took criminal justice course in high school; indeed the film involved autopsy. They actually showed the corpses of the slain criminals being investigated which was interesting and educational so suffice to say, it really depends on the objective of the film crew is to convey the message to the community. If it’s about the job as a pathologist, then I don’t see why not since it’s a way of communicating with an audience who has interests.

  3. As weird as things may be, there are a lot of people that really want to see what happens at an autopsy. I have had 4 people at my work want me to pull strings so that they could come “tour.” There is an interest. However, where do you draw the line at morbid curiosity and people’s right to privacy. I don’t know. If the deceased and the family don’t find this objectionable, why not!

Leave a Reply

